Bouchercon 2014 and Anthony Awards

I learned it’s pronounced: bough’·chur·con.

Many mystery fans are familiar with the Bouchercon conference which has been held annually since 1970. I just attended my first one this week in Long Beach. It’s billed as “the Annual World Mystery Convention, where every year readers, writers, publishers, editors, agents, booksellers and other lovers of crime fiction gather for a long weekend of education, entertainment, and fun.”

I couldn’t find an official attendee count but it must be well into the hundreds. Probably over a thousand people. It’s not only a HUGE crowd, you have to choose from about five author panels and sessions occurring at any given time.

The panels cover every corner of the crime fiction world: from how-to, to autobiographical, to general discussions about a wide range of topics like suspense, noir, short stories, collecting books…you name it. I’m a fan of police procedural, suspense, and thriller subgenres, but it amazing how many others there are too.

In attendance were big name mystery authors (too numerous to start naming) and dozens and dozens of authors I have never heard of before. It made me realize the immense size of the mystery and crime fiction world. There’s a strong sense of community among crime fiction authors and fans.

Check out Otto Penzler’s Mysterious Bookshop in New York City, online or in person. That gentleman is undoubtedly the foremost authority on crime, mystery and suspense fiction.

Some of the Anthony Award winners:

Best Novel – William Kent Krueger for Ordinary Grace.

Best First Novel – Matt Coyle for Yesterday’s Echo.

Best Paperback Original – Catriona McPherson for As She Left It.

Best TV Screenplay – Jon Bokenkamp for The Blacklist, Pilot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *